Posted on

THEY’RE ALL EXTINCT

You may have seen this around town… If you have an app for it on your phone; you took a picture of the QR code next to it and that led you here. Hopefully you’re interested in the work and want to see more. You can check out the gallery below to find more posters and you should be able to click on any of them to copy a larger, pint-quality version… Free. Why free? Because if you like them I want you to have them. No catch. This is not an ad campaign for a clothing company, I’m not trying to create a meme, I just want people enjoy the posters and be able to print them so they can share my work others. Hi, my name’s poster Poster Bot and I really love making posters.

Now that the introductions are taken care of… What say we talk about the poster little? A lot of people look at this and think “seven deadly sins.” But is ambition a sin? How about curiosity, creativity, or individuality? I hope not. So what does the poster mean? Aside from the fact the animals depicted are all aquatic; what else do they have in common? They’re all extinct. I don’t really believe that pride, originality or determination are instinct as well but I do want people to ask the question. I want people to ask themselves whether or not these attributes are on the wane. I don’t know about you… But I live in a society that seems to demand constant sacrifice and an ever-increasing amount of compromise. What are we gaining by making so many accommodations? If we surrender our pride to hold a job, get a degree, find a lover… to kill it?

The poster on top was done in color… I chose purple & green because I associate those colors (in this context) with death and funerals. I wanted the creatures to look like ghosts or zombies swimming in a dead sea. The poster directly above is in black & white… I’m fortunate enough to be able to print for free but not everyone has that luxury so all of the propaganda posters were designed both in color and in B&W to keep printing costs down. To make sure that each poster has the same impact; they were designed in B&W first, the colored version is always the 2nd.

Any way… directly below is the gallery I was talking about. I’ve been putting these posters all over Seattle and if even you don’t like them I hope they made you think. During the next few weeks I’ll be putting more up, adding more to this site and talking more about each poster. In the mean time… get used to it.

How do you print these posters? That’s a good question… and it amazes me how many different answers there seem to be. I’m a graphic design major and everyone at my school likes open files in Photoshop & print from that program; but I don’t have Photoshop, so here’s my method… using Windows I just right-click on the file (the icon or thumb-nail, it doesn’t matter) and select print. The posters in this gallery were ment to be printed on 11×17 inch paper but i think my measurements are a little off. So after you select print, then 11×17 paper, make sure the box that reads “fit image to paper size” is checked. No matter what the actual dimensions (I think I’m a few pixels off) the image will resize to fit the paper perfectly.

Leave a comment